The new Omicron variant has been found in six more states, bringing the total number of states with cases to eleven.  New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, and Utah each reported their first cases of the new variant on Friday.

Omicron has been found in approximately 40 countries, including the United States, where it has already been discovered in New York, California, Colorado, Hawaii, and Minnesota.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said it is looking into possible cases of the Omicron variant in other states, but experts say the Delta strain of Covid-19 is a greater threat as Americans gather for the holidays.

Scientists jobs are still looking into the consequences of the highly contagious Omicron variant, which was discovered in South Africa. Early evidence suggests that it may cause less severe illness than its predecessors, such as Delta.

Leaders in the United States and elsewhere have imposed additional Covid-19 limitations as a result of the Omicron pandemic. However, according to CDC Director Rochelle Walensky, the most common strain in the United States is Delta.

The state’s first Omicron case, according to New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy, was discovered in a fully vaccinated woman who had recently traveled to Georgia. According to the state’s health department, the Utah case was discovered through ongoing genetic sequencing of positive COVID-19 samples at the state laboratory. Nebraska had six inveterate cases, its health department said. Only one of the six people was vaccinated, and none have needed to be hospitalized with COVID-19.

Maryland Governor Larry Hogan announced the first three cases in his state but stated that no one was hospitalized. According to city health officials in Philadelphia, a man in his 30s tested positive for Omicron. Missouri was awaiting CDC confirmation of a case involving a St. Louis resident who had recently traveled within the United States.

Source: New York Post

Follow WhatNews on YouTubeTwitterLinkedin, and Facebook