Young Innovator Competition 2013. Thursday 27th June, Chipping Sodbury Town Hall. The Rotary Club of Chipping Sodbury today announced that they have attracted more leading businesses to sponsor their awards than ever before.

Sponsors include Rolls Royce, Hanson UK, Indesit, Renishaw plc, Sharpak Yate, Chipping Sodbury Town Lands Charity and Hobbs House Bakeries, with sponsors providing expert judges for the competition. (1)

The annual awards have proved to be so successful that entry levels are expected to increase significantly this year with around 80 entrants anticipated.

‘The competition is more intense than ever and we are delighted to confirm that three of our local schools will compete this year’ commented Rotarian and event organiser John Cook, ‘Students from Brimsham Green, Chipping Sodbury and Yate International Academy (2) will compete across six categories (3) and it is promising to be a very exciting year for all concerned’.

Head of Design Technology at Chipping Sodbury School, Mr Keith Mellens best summed up the impact of the event, ‘we are grateful to the Rotary Club for hosting the competition. It gives students an opportunity to celebrate the success that has been achieved through the production of high quality technological and creative artefacts which have the potential to solve real problems. Students also gain vital skills when presenting their work to others and this will be of considerable benefit to many of them in later years’

Winners in 2012 (4) included Gavin Woodruff from Chipping Sodbury School who designed a system to light up a flight of stairs during dark conditions. His invention, which won the Young Innovator category, incorporated pressure pads for use when you don’t want to or are unable to use conventional lighting.

Group Photograph of 2012 winners 

Members of the public are welcome to come and see the creative work of students from three schools, which can be viewed from 2.30pm on the 27 June. There is no charge for admission.

The event provides an important opportunity for members of the public to recognise and celebrate young local talent and is not to be missed!

(1) Judges include: Gwyn Jones, Julie Collins, Joshua Tyack – Renishaw; Nigel Watkins – Sharpak; Rich McDonough and Paul Whittle – Photography; Ann Murray and Pam Bindy – Catering; Jan Hassard and Anne Baldwin Charles – Textiles; and Phil Rumeny

(2) School contacts: Brimsham Green – Brian bassett

Chipping Sodbury – Keith Mellens

Yate International – Simon Ashley

(3) Categories: Young Innovator (up to 18 years)

Textile Technology (up to 16 years)

Food Technology (up to 16 years)

Photography (up to 18 years)

Product Design (16 years and Open (snrs)

Product Design (up to 18 years)

(4) 2012 Winners:

Chipping Sodbury School unless otherwise indicated
Young Innovator
1st Place Gavin Woodruff
Textile Technology
1st Place Hannah Eacott
Food Technology
1st Place Carrie-Ann Wilson
Product Design
1st Place Felix King
1st Place Ben Allen (Ridings Federation, Winterbourne Academy)
Senior Product Design
1st Place Hannah Lloyd

Source:The Rotary Club of Chipping Sodbury.